Sport and Mental Health

np-rehab-1st-page-blue

                          

          Right off the bat, let me tell you I am not an expert in Mental Health or how it relates to being physically active, I am merely curious about the subject, so I thought I’d explore a little for my own benefit, and hopefully yours.  Let me start off by saying that my research actually surprised me somewhat.  I was expecting to find a ton of articles on the positive impact of sport on mental illness, instead I found more articles on the stigma surrounding it and the downside in general.  I will still try to add my own positive conclusion, and will note that my findings apply mainly to the professional or competitive athlete, though this is also a correlation to amateur athletes.

        While the stigma around mental health in the general population seems to be gradually dissipating, albeit too slowly, in the world of sports it persists.  Studies show that athletes are subject to stigma surrounding mental illness, particularly as they are expected to be so mentally strong and in control to perform.  While I’m a very competitive person in general, I find it very hard to be competitive in an actual competition, I think because I’m generally having way too much fun.  I still perform, I just definitely lack that competitive focus, or perhaps just show it differently, or in short bursts between laughing.  I do respect that mental focus in others, and can obviously see the benefit from it, therefore I understand how having to live with any kind of mental illness as a professional athlete could wreak havoc on one’s performance.  Essentially, I understand why a professional athlete would be compelled to hide this from a coach, or the media, despite it not being in their best interest.

          In general, the articles I read covered mental health issues related to burnout, injuries, and unrealistic expectations when it came to sports.  Even on a non-professional level, I find myself burnt-out from focusing on one sport too much, or participating in sports-leagues too many nights a week, I also find that I just get bored of doing the same thing.  I can’t imagine making a career out of focusing on training for and excelling in one sport, all day, every day.  I understand that there is a whole lot of passion going around in professional sports, and would argue that I am, or have been, passionate about different sports throughout my life, though not to the extent I assume of a professional athlete, or even that of some of my peers.  One can imagine then, how an athlete so passionate and focused feels when an injury, minor or major hits, as the repercussions can be huge.  I cannot fathom injuring myself and not being able to go run 5k at the drop of a hat, or play a game of dodgeball, even having difficulty walking or moving in general would be a huge hit for me, so imagine the same happening to a professional athlete.  Whether an injury is one you can recover from relatively quickly, require surgery for, or will never recover from, each takes its toll on you, and can lead to severe mental illness on top of the physical illness.  In the world of sport, mental “toughness” is just as important as physical ability, the stigma around mental illness needs to be abolished so better solutions can be reached for athletes.

          This being said, there are still benefits of sport for individuals suffering from mental illness, obviously after seeking proper medical attention first.  Many individuals who have sought medical treatment, are advised to get more active, on top of therapy and/or a medication regime, either starting at a gym or getting involved in recreational sports.  Regular exercise releases feel good endorphins, and reduces stress, not to mention group sporting activities are a great avenue for meeting new people and socializing in general.  Exercise has been shown to reduce anxiety and help with patients suffering from depression as well.  I can certainly say that playing team sports has helped me through some of the more difficult times in my life, and I know I always feel better after a run or yoga, despite how hard it sometimes is to get my gear on and head out the door.  We are fortunate enough to live in a city like Toronto where literally any sport is available to try, so whatever your preference or level of competition, there is something for you, and I truly believe it can only help 🙂

Keep an eye out for our calendar of Fall leagues coming out this week @ http://www.offlimitsports.com

2 thoughts on “Sport and Mental Health

  1. You might try focusing your research on something more specific… like instead of “mental illness” use “depression” and instead of “sports” use “exercise” or “physical activity.” You should find quite a bit of research on that. I recently posted a video in one of my blog posts about the science behind a Runner’s High. It’s interesting, and it applies to physical activity in general, not just running. You can watch it here:
    http://nickydoesblogilates.wordpress.com/2014/08/09/exercising-yourself-to-a-better-mood/

Leave a comment